The 2017 CRN Impact Awards celebrate supplier-led Australian IT projects that have made a difference for customer organisations.

About the categories

Digital transformation

This award recognises projects that help customer organisations modernise internal systems and harness the power of data. Projects eligible for this award would centre around analytics, APIs, custom application integration and development. Projects could include migrating software to public/private/hybrid cloud or upgrading internal business systems for customer organisations.

Customer experience

This award recognises projects that help client organisations better service their own end user customers in a digital, mobile world. This category could include technology in retail, hospitality or customer service environments: driving sales and marketing outcomes and supporting customer transactions or interactions. This could include websites, mobile applications or wireless.

IP, product and platform innovation

This category is aimed at Australian companies that have built their own intellectual property around a third-party platform (as opposed to building an application from the ground up). It is expected to primarily suit software and cloud solutions. It will focus on application developers working in the ecosystems of major software and cloud vendors (ISVs), as well as other IT providers that have packaged up services and solutions into a repeatable model.

Trusted systems

This award recognises projects that protect customer assets and data, build resiliency, ensure business continuity and protect transactions. This category would include security, backup, disaster recovery and business continuity, identity and access management. It could also cover security advisory services, as well as building redundancy into systems.

Working together

While this award centres on a customer project, the judges will be primarily focused on how multiple providers have collaborated to deliver an outcome. This category is aimed at what are often called "partner-to-partner engagements" or "partnering with other partners". This category could include sub-contracting engagements; specialist providers working together; or mainstream/broad IT suppliers enlisting a niche/specialist partner. Both/all partners will receive recognition.

Workforce empowerment

This award recognises projects that promote flexible working and enable mobile workforces and field sales teams. This category would include telecommunications and connectivity, including smartphones and tablets. Projects centring on unified comms and activity-based working would fit this category, as would contact centre and wi-fi projects.

Optimising investments (Mid-range)   /   Optimising investments (Enterprise)

This award, which has two tiers, recognises projects that save customers money on their IT spend or transition budgets to more flexible models. There are two tiers: Mid-range covers projects under $20,000 per month / $240,000 per annum; Enterprise covers projects over $20,000 per month / $240,000 per annum. This category particularly focuses on helping customers transition to operating expenditure (opex) and consumption models, migrating internal systems to private or public cloud, as well as managed services and outsourcing contracts.

​Modernising infrastructure (Mid-range)   /   Modernising infrastructure (Enterprise)

This award, which has two tiers, recognises projects that take customer IT infrastructure to modern platforms: to support cost savings, efficiencies, growth and innovation. There are two tiers in this award: Mid-range covers projects under $500,000; Enterprise covers projects over $500,000. This category would include upgrading compute, storage, core networking or converged systems, end user devices or printing. Data centre improvements would also fit.


To be eligible for the 2017 CRN Impact Awards, the project must have taken place in the 2016 calendar year.

For multi-year projects, a significant, measurable phase of the project should have completed in the 2016 calendar year.

Projects must be led by a channel partner/s or local solution provider/s. Vendor-only (direct) deals will not be considered.

For ongoing services contracts, the contract should have been live for the majority of the 2016 calendar year and still be retained at the time of entry.

Only live, commercial projects are eligible for the CRN Impact Awards. If a project was a proof-of-concept, this must be clearly explained in the submission.

We must have approval to publish the name of the customer organisation and details of the project supplied in the entry form.

The CRN Impact Awards are only open to Australian IT projects. For projects with an international footprint, the project must have been negotiated, commenced or have primarily taken place in Australia.

CRN reserves the right to decide eligibility.


Awards submissions closed at midnight on Sunday 29 January.

Entries judged by a panel of CRN editorial judges and industry experts.

Finalists revealed at the CRN Pipeline conference in Melbourne on Wednesday 22 March.

Winners revealed at an awards ceremony at the CRN Pipeline conference in Sydney on Thursday 6 April.


All winners and finalists will be announced and promoted on the CRN website and email newsletter - get your brand in front of tens of thousands of readers!

CRN will publish profiles of all winning projects in our printed magazine in March or April - reach more than 8000 subscribers!

Winners will be revealed at a gala awards dinner in front of the IT industry and called up on stage to accept their win.

Winners will receive a trophy acknowledging their win.

CRN will design a one-page PDF case study for each winner, which can be used for your marketing. (Clients would typically pay us for this service.)

Coverage on all winners and finalists will be promoted on CRN's sister title, iTnews, which is read every day by tens of thousands of major IT customers and CIOs.

All winners and finalists will receive a brand pack containing the awards logo to use on their website and marketing

We may also recognise Highly Commended and Commended companies in each category. These entrants will also receive a brand pack and get promoted across CRN and iTnews. 


The CRN Impact Awards will be judged by a CRN editorial panel and industry experts, who will consider how well the project achieved the customer's desired outcome

We will consider whether the project achieved its desired outcomes in terms of scope, timeframe and cost.

The judges will look favourably on innovative uses of technology, customer service, strength of partnerships and return on investment.

Log In

Username / Email:
  |  Forgot your password?