Aussie IBM, Telstra, Dell, Lenovo execs join peak ICT body

By on
Aussie IBM, Telstra, Dell, Lenovo execs join peak ICT body

The Australian Information Industry Association has added a number of high profile Australian tech executives to its board.

The industry body has added seven new board members from some of the biggest and most well known global ICT firms operating in Australia, including IBM, Telstra, Lenovo and Dell, in addition to representatives from small-to-medium firms.

The seven new appointees include Australian Data Centres chief executive Megan James; IBM Australia and New Zealand managing director David La Rose; Qlik vice president and regional director for ANZ Sharryn Napier; Dell ANZ managing director Angela Fox; Telstra Enterprise chief customer officer John Ieraci; and Lenovo ANZ managing director Matt Codrington.

“Our invigorated AIIA National Board and our State Councils embody the diversity of the Australian digital economy, including large Australian companies, multinationals and small and medium sized businesses,” AIIA chairman and Optus Business managing director John Paitaridis said.

“I am delighted with the composition of the new AIIA Board. The Board members are all recognised leaders in the Australian technology industry bringing together a vast range of skills, industry insights and experiences to support and inspire the AIIA to realise its vision of growing Australia’s social and economic prosperity through technology innovation.”

The new appointments join existing board members Charles Lindop of KTM Capital; Microsoft Australia managing director Steve Worrall; SME Gateway CEO Stuart Althaus; Information Professionals managing director Mark Nicholls; DXC ANZ managing director Seelan Nayagam; University of Technology Sydney director of entrepreneurship Murray Hurps; and Cisco vice president Ken Boal.

Board executives are elected for up to three-year terms to guide and work closely with AIIA management to develop its national business plan, according to the association.

The AIIA has also set up six state councils to promote and support the AlIA in specific state and territories. The state and territory councils are responsible to the AIIA Board and report to the recently appointed chief executive, Ron Gauci.

Those AIIA state chairs are:

● Victoria: Deirdre Diamante – M.I.A. Consulting Services
● Australian Capital Territory: Greg Boorer – Canberra Data Centres Proprietary
● Western Australia: Sharon Brown – Sharon Brown & Associates
● Queensland: Mark Nicholls – Information Professionals
● New South Wales: Matt Wynn-Jones – Counterparts Technology
● South Australia: Tim Chopping – SRA Information Technology

Got a news tip for our journalists? Share it with us anonymously here.
Copyright © CRN Australia. All rights reserved.

Most Read Articles

Log In

  |  Forgot your password?