AWS hit by DDoS attack dragging half of web down

By on
AWS hit by DDoS attack dragging half of web down

Amazon Web Services has been hit by a distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attack, resulting in an outage that affected many websites.

The company Wednesday morning said it's investigating reports of intermittent Domain Name System (DNS) resolution errors with Route 53 and its external DNS providers. The errors have since been resolved as of midday Wednesday.

AWS’ status page said the errors happened occured from 10:30am to 6:30pm US Pacific Time, or 4:30am to 12:30pm AEST, with some experiencing a higher error rate at 5:16pm PT or 11:16am AEST.

An AWS customer posted a response from AWS Support on Reddit, confirming the DDoS attack.

“The AWS DNS servers are currently under a DDoS attack. Our DDoS mitigations are absorbing the vast majority of this traffic, but these mitigations are also flagging some legitimate customer queries at this time,” the response read.

“We are actively working on additional mitigations, as well as tracking down the source of the attack to shut it down.”

AWS Support also said the DNS resolution issues affected other AWS service endpoints like ELB, RDS and EC2 that require public DNS resolution.

Users took to Twitter to either inform their customers or express their displeasure.

Got a news tip for our journalists? Share it with us anonymously here.
Copyright © CRN Australia. All rights reserved.
Tags:

Most Read Articles

You must be a registered member of CRN to post a comment.
| Register

Poll

What's your reaction to Microsoft shifting Azure prices into $US?
Upset that we'll pay more
We'll manage it, but wish prices were consistent
Not a problem - we already purchase in $US
We'll move to other clouds
View poll archive

Log In

Username / Email:
Password:
  |  Forgot your password?