Cisco reveals 'next gen' leadership team as Rob Lloyd, Gary Moore depart

By on
Cisco reveals 'next gen' leadership team as Rob Lloyd, Gary Moore depart

Incoming Cisco chief executive Chuck Robbins Thursday unveiled his new "next generation" leadership team of 10 people, the next step in his strategy to propel the networking giant into the digital age.

The company also disclosed that a number of key executives are heading for the door, including CTO Padmasree Warrior and Edzard Overbeek, the company's top services executive.

This follows the announcement earlier this week that two of Cisco's biggest names – president and chief operating officer Gary Moore and president, development and sales Rob Lloyd – are both leaving Cisco on 25 July.

Both Lloyd and Moore were seen as front-runners to succeed Chambers after he named them presidents in October 2012. Chambers revealed on 4 May that the job would go to Robbins, following a unanimous vote by Cisco's board. 

On Thursday, Cisco added that Cisco top executives Warrior, chief technology and strategy officer; Overbeek, senior vice president for Cisco Services; and Wim Elfrink, executive vice president for Industry Solutions and chief globalisation officer, will be departing the company.

Robbins has now revealed his new top team. "With the leadership team I’m announcing today, I’m extremely confident we will move even faster, innovate like never before, and pull away from the competition."

Nine out of the 10 leaders are currently Cisco executives, with the only new face being Dr Ruba Borno, who will become chief of staff and vice president of growth initiatives, a new position at Cisco. Borno was principal and leader in technology, media and telecommunications and people and organisation at Boston Consulting Group, a global management consulting firm.

The rest of the leaders include familiar faces with new titles including Rebecca Jacoby, senior vice president of operations; Hilton Romanski, chief technology and strategy officer; Mark Chandler, senior vice president and general counsel; Joe Cozzolino, senior vice president of services; Karen Walker, chief marketing officer; Fran Katsoudas, chief people officer; and Chris Dedicoat, senior vice president of worldwide sales.

Executives appointed to the new leadership group who will keep their current titles are Pankaj Patel, executive vice president, chief development officer, and Kelly Kramer, executive vice president and CFO.

"This is an incredible team, with the right blend of experiences, expertise and backgrounds to advance us towards our objectives of accelerating our innovation and execution, simplifying how we do business, driving operational rigor in all we do, and inspiring our incredible employees to be the best that they can be," said Robbins.

This article originally appeared at

Got a news tip for our journalists? Share it with us anonymously here.
Copyright © 2018 The Channel Company, LLC. All rights reserved.

Most Read Articles

Log In

Username / Email:
  |  Forgot your password?