Myspace tries to woo old users with their own photos

By on
Myspace tries to woo old users with their own photos

Once popular social network Myspace has been emailing former users to remind them their photos are still stored on its servers.

With the subject line "Your Photos are Back!" the message suggests users return to the site to have a look at their photos, "the good, the rad and the what were you thinking", according to Mashable.

The email also contains the slightly creepy line "Your Photos, Redelivered".

This has caused some people to accuse the site of blackmail - holding the photos for ransom to get users back.

Myspace has denied such accusations, telling Mashable it's merely "reaching out to current and past users to re-engage them through a personalised experience".

Myspace was launched in 2003 and quickly gained popularity. In less than a year it had accrued over one million users and in 2006 it became the world's most visited website, beating Google.

However, since the launch of Facebook, its number of active users steadily decreased, indicated by the fact it has 16 times fewer photos in its database than Facebook, so it may not have all the photos users expect.

It also deleted other user content over the years, including blogs.

This article originally appeared at pcpro.co.uk

Got a news tip for our journalists? Share it with us anonymously here.
Copyright © Alphr, Dennis Publishing
Tags:

Most Read Articles

Log In

Username / Email:
Password:
  |  Forgot your password?