Wi-fi standards are getting new names, so say goodbye to 802.11

By on
Wi-fi standards are getting new names, so say goodbye to 802.11

It will soon be easier to distinguish between different wi-fi standards following the Wi-Fi Alliance's decision to ditch the 802.11 naming convention.

Rather than using the 802.11 code, each standard will instead be numbered. The new naming system comes with the introduction of Wi-Fi 6, which supports devices with 802.11ax. It is expected to deliver 30 percent faster wi-fi speeds and will be approved for use some time next year.

The new naming convention applies retroactively to previous wi-fi standards. Devices that support 802.11ac technology will now be identified as Wi-Fi 5 and devices supporting 802.11n will be referred to as Wi-Fi 4.

The Wi-Fi Alliance, a group of networking companies comprised of the world's largest wi-fi vendors that collectively define wi-fi standards, said industry adoption of the new naming scheme would help users better understand what sort of wi-fi experience they should expect.

 “For nearly two decades, Wi-Fi users have had to sort through technical naming conventions to determine if their devices support the latest wi-fi," Wi-Fi Alliance chief executive Edgar Figueroa said.

"Wi-Fi Alliance is excited to introduce Wi-Fi 6, and present a new naming scheme to help industry and wi-fi users easily understand the wi-fi generation supported by their device or connection.”

The Wi-Fi Alliance also released sample graphics that can be incorporated into UI visuals that adjust as devices move in between different networks so they know what kind of connectivity to expect.

Got a news tip for our journalists? Share it with us anonymously here.
Copyright © CRN Australia. All rights reserved.

Most Read Articles

Log In

  |  Forgot your password?