2016 CRN MVPs: Frequently asked questions

Q: Who can submit a CRN MVP entry?

A: Any IT solutions provider operating in the Australia IT can enter. You must make the majority of your revenue by deploying solutions from technology vendors to end user organisations. We are looking for resellers, systems integrators, managed service providers and other ICT companies.

Q: My company was already inducted as a CRN MVP last year, do we need to enter again?

A: Yes. Vendor accreditations change from year to year. CRN needs to review your current state.

Q: Is there a cost to enter?

A: No.

Q: What is the deadline for entry?

A: Entries will close 11:59pm 1 March 2016.

Q: Why should I care about being a CRN MVP?

A: Qualifying as a CRN MVP shows that your company invests in the best vendor technology to provide the best outcomes for your clients. It shows you can offer customers versatile solutions. It proves you are highly valuable to your key vendors. CRN will promote your company as among the best of the best in the Australian IT industry.

Q: What do I receive for becoming a CRN MVP?

A: You will join the most exclusive club of IT solutions providers in the Australian channel. CRN will promote your company through editorial in print and online. You will get a chance to come up on stage at a special awards ceremony in April in Sydney to receive the accolade. Your company will be permitted to use the CRN MVP logo on marketing materials to show off the fruits of your investment in vendors. Your company may also be featured in a CRN magazine article.

Q: My company is foreign-owned. Can it still enter?

A: As long as the company is doing business in Australia, foreign ownership is no problem.

Q: My company is foreign-owned. Do my overseas accreditations count?

A: No, only accreditations active in Australia are eligible.

Q: I am the subsidiary of a bigger company. Can I still enter?

A: The parent company should enter, and include your vendor partner status as part of their tally.

Q: Can I enter for my subsidiaries?

A: See above.

Q: How are the CRN MVPs determined?

A: CRN MVPs are calculated by counting gold-equivalent partner levels across eligible vendors. In 2015, the fourteen CRN MVPs had achieved four or more gold-equivalent partnerships with any of the 12 eligible vendors.

Q: What do you man by "gold-equivalent" partner levels?

A: Vendors uses different classifications for their partner programs. Microsoft's top partners are "Gold", Dell's are "Premier" and VMware's are "Enterprise". We are looking for top-tier partners only.

Q: But my vendor's program has 4-5 partners tiers, not just Gold, Silver and Bronze. Aren't you comparing apples with oranges?

A: In some cases, multiple tiers are classed as "Gold-equivalent". For example, in 2015 we included Platinum and Gold for HP and Citrix. This is decided by the CRN team based on the number of partners at each tier and the difficulty in attaining the level among other factors, as well as the spirit of what that partner program is trying to achieve.

Q: Which vendors were eligible last year?

A: Amazon Web Services, Cisco, Citrix, Dell, EMC, HP (including Aruba), IBM, Intel (including Intel Security), Lenovo, Microsoft, Symantec and VMware.

Q: Why those 12 vendors?

A: We chose the top two vendors in seven key technology categories, as defined by Gartner market share data. The categories were PCs, servers, storage, networking, software, security, virtualisation and IaaS. The idea is that the CRN MVP club will expand each year through the addition of more eligible vendors.

Q: Which vendor(s) will be added to the judging criteria this year?

A: This will be revealed at the awards ceremony. If you notice a vendor that should be included, please state your case on your application.

Q: How will CRN decide which vendors are eligible in 2016?

A: This will be based on market penetration and perception of the vendors, their relevance to our readers and their popularity during the entry process. The CRN team's decisions will be guided by feedback in your entry - you have to be in it to win it!

Q: What point of time do the vendor partnership levels have to be valid?

A: Vendor partnership levels active between 1 January 2016 and 1 March 2016 inclusive are valid for entry. All information submitted on the entry form will be subject to verification.

Q: When is the ceremony to accept the award?

A: Lunchtime, Friday 8 April in Sydney. Venue details will be shared with all successful CRN MVPs.

More questions? Contact CRN deputy editor Tony Yoo.

Log In

Username / Email:
  |  Forgot your password?